National Quality Framework Assessment Rating

Our service has recently been assessed under the new National Quality Framework introduced across Australia from 1 January 2012.
This system is uniform across Australia and is designed to improve the quality of education and care for all Australian children. It applies to most types of early learning services such as Long Day Care (LDC), Family Day Care (FDC), kindergartens, and Out of School Hours Care (OSHC). This is the first time that kindergartens have been assessed against a set of quality standards. In Victoria, services are assessed by the Department of Education and Early Childhood Development (DEECD). The rating for a service is determined by assessing the service’s performance against 58 standards in seven quality areas outlined in the National Quality Standard (NQS). A copy of the standard is available at the service.

The seven quality areas are:
o Quality Area 1: Educational program and practice
o Quality Area 2: Children’s health and safety
o Quality Area 3: Physical environment
o Quality Area 4: Staffing arrangements
o Quality Area 5: Relationships with children
o Quality Area 6: Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
o Quality Area 7: Leadership and service management.

Each of the seven quality areas are assessed separately and rated for every service The service is also provided with an overall rating which is based on the lowest rating received in any one quality area.

There are five possible ratings a service could receive:
o Excellent – this rating is awarded at a national level (all others are awarded at a state level)
o Exceeding national quality standard
o Meeting national quality standard
o Working towards national quality standard
o Significant improvement required

The rating for our service and what it means
We are very pleased to announce that our service has received an overall rating of Exceeding National Quality Standard. The ratings for the individual areas are:
Quality Area 1: Exceeding National Quality Standard
Quality Area 2: Exceeding National Quality Standard
Quality Area 3: Exceeding National Quality Standard
Quality Area 4: Exceeding National Quality Standard
Quality Area 5: Exceeding National Quality Standard
Quality Area 6: Exceeding National Quality Standard
Quality Area 7: Exceeding National Quality Standard

The ratings reflect the high quality education and care that our service provides. The skills, knowledge and experience of our dedicated team of staff and Committee of Management, past and present, who have worked hard over the past few of years to implement the quality framework, has made this result possible.

We are working to embed continuous quality improvement within every element of our service to maintain the high standards that we have achieved.

Ascot Kindergarten SE00003081 20140602 ART006 – Notice of Rating

Leave a Reply